Easy DIY Place Value Mat

Place value mats are often used with the Golden Beads and Stamp Game to help organize the materials.  I wanted something simple and easy but more than just paper.  After a bit of thought I came up with this.  I made two.  The mats I got from the Dollar Store for $3 each.  I already had the white acrylic paint (Dollar Store paint) and the fabric paint (Walmart) and the masking tape.

IMG_1105

First I put the tape on the mat to define where the lines would go.  Then I used the paint and a paint brush to paint a line down the edge of the tape on the carpet.

IMG_1108

After that I used the fabric paint to write the numbers at the top and let dry.  And voilà!  All done.

IMG_1107

1 thought on “Easy DIY Place Value Mat

  1. Pingback: Bringing the Montessori Classroom Outside | Pumpkins and Me

Leave a comment