I Am An Artist

My daughter said these beautiful words today.  She has always struggled with trying to do things perfectly and melting down when she makes one little mistake.  This would cause her to not try to paint or draw something because she couldn’t make it perfect.  When she was only two she’d freak out if she coloured outside of the lines.  She’d never been told to colour in the lines.  I had to take away all the colouring books.  Finally, in desperation, I got her a second hand copy of this book.

It’s great because it shows all different styles and types of art while talking about famous artists and showing their work.  It opened her eyes to the idea that art doesn’t have to look or be a certain way.  It doesn’t have to meet a criteria of perfect.

Today they made their own art inspired by Matisse’s work “The Snail”.

IMG_1477

While working on her art work she said, “I am an artist”.  It made my heart sing.  I hope she feels more free now to create what is in her heart without restrictions.

IMG_1476

IMG_1478

 

2 thoughts on “I Am An Artist

Leave a Reply

