Easy Dipping Salsa Recipe

Several years ago before I had kids, I won a jar of home made salsa at work.  It was delicious and I admit I ate the whole thing in one sitting.  The salsa was on the sweet side, perfect for dipping and scooping with nacho chips.  Ever since I’ve always wished I could find something similar but I haven’t been able to.  Finally, I thought I’d try to make my own.  I don’t can but I could make some to keep in the fridge, right?  It was even easier than I thought it’d be!  I checked out a couple recipes, combined and tweeked, and this is the result.

Ingredients
2 28 oz cans whole tomatoes
1 white onion chopped
1/2 jalapeño pepper chopped and de-seeded
1/2 cup white vinegar
4 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp salt (or to taste)

Directions
Strain whole tomatoes and discard juice.  Place tomatoes in a pot and crush with your hands.  Add in the rest of the ingredients.  Bring to a boil and then turn down and simmer uncovered until the salsa is the desired thickness, about 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours.
Refrigerate and serve cold.

Enjoy with nacho chips or pita slices or tortillas.

Leave a Reply

