DIY Spindle Box

I haven’t really made too many Montessori materials myself.  There are tons of DIY tutorials for Montessori materials on the Web.  Living Montessori Now has great collections of tutorials if you’re looking to save some money by making things yourself.  However, to make things oneself you have to have time to make it, you have to have time to go to the stores to collect your supplies, you have to know where to get the supplies you want and sometimes it actually costs more to DIY.  Time is something I lack and I have learned that when I make things myself they often don’t turn out right and I wind up buying the actual thing anyway, though now it’s cost me the DIY supplies too.  But when I saw one of the home-made spindle boxes I knew I could do that myself and I had most of the supplies on hand.  Here is the version I was inspired by.  It was quite simple to do and I bought the dowels from the Dollar Store.  I wrote the numbers with fabric paint.  It’s a little advance for Pumpkin 1 but she likes to play with it and have me help her count out the dowels.  The spindle boxes help teach quantities and the concept of “0”.

ImageImage

One thought on “DIY Spindle Box

  1. Pingback: What Materials Should I Get for my Preschooler? | Pumpkins and Me

Leave a Reply

